The Origin
    Co-operative movement in India is more than 100 years old and it has a long history in India. The Co-operative movement has spread to various sectors and one of the latest fields is the consumer movement. But its growth was wonderful. The Government of India established Coffee Board in early 1940s, during British rule in India, with a view to propagate drinking of coffee, and sale of coffee seeds. In furtherance of this object coffee Board established India Coffee Houses in various Cities in India. As the India coffee Houses belong to the Coffee Board were running in loss, the Board closed most of its branches and retrenched all the employees.

    Shri. A.K.Gopalan and Mrs. Subhadra Joshi persuaded the workers to form Co-operative Societies. Shri. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, then prime Minister of India also very much supported in the Formation of the Co-operative Societies in India. Accordingly, the workers formed the Co-operative Societies in different States of India and renamed the network as “ INDIAN COFFEE HOUSE ”. The first Indian Coffee House was opened in New Delhi on October 27, 1957.

    At that time, the employees of India Coffee House, Jabalpur had their Labour union. This Union also responded properly and given all the help to these retrenched employees to form a Society at Jabalpur. And thus they formed the Society in the name and style of “ Indian Coffee Workers’ Co-operative Society Limited, Jabalpur ”. There were a great effort and active support of Shri.P.Sadasivan Nair and Shri. L.N.Mehrotra to organize this Society. They had carried very important roles in the formation and development of the Society especially Shri. P. Sadasivan Nair, was the Chief Patron of the Society in all the activities of the Society from the beginning to till his demise. Smt. Indira Nair, W/o. Shri. P. Sadasivan Nair, was the Society’s legal Advisor for long time, and still provides all the help and guidance for the progress of the Society.